dot11Expert BETA TEST

dot11Expert - Wifi Networks / WLAN troubleshooting
Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Kyle_Katarn » Fri Sep 02, 2016 12:51 pm

Dear all,

Welcome to the beta test of dot11Expert, our new Wifi Network / WLAN troubleshooting tool.
dot11Expert displays experts information (on both PHY and MAC level) on your network adapters and informations on all sensed networks and their associated access points

Image

Software page : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/?dot11expert

Download : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/files/dot11expert.exe

Please post your feedback here.
You can use our bug tracker to suggest features & to report bugs : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/

dot11Expert will be a paid software.
Here comes a free licence for beta testers :
Name : Beta Tester
Serial # : 20066080100114032085089095085083098048046057

magellan
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by magellan » Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:15 pm

FRENCH TEXT:
Dans l'ordre, quelques idées de base.
1° côté ergonomie
- Le bouton "More" est selon moi peu explicite au titre qu'on ne sait pas instinctivement quelle est la ligne sélectionnée; Coller le bouton" More" à chaque ligne de network sera plus facile à comprendre et à manipuler je pense.
- Rendre possible la modification de la largeur des colonnes, plutôt que rigide (surtout en mode fenêtré je pense)
- Le graphique est "propre", mais faute de précisions, impossible de saisir qui est quoi.
* Codifier par couleur les lignes est excellent, à condition... que les différents réseaux soient surlignés de la même couleur
* Donner la possibilité de cocher/décocher les graphiques selon le réseau considéré, ceci pour avoir une vue plus précise
* Positionner des échelons (pourcentage/temps) pour que l'on puisse lire clairement les résultats en temps réel
- Ajouter les tris. Toutes les colonnes des grilles doivent être en capacité d'être triées... c'est pratique de trier par intensité de signal par exemple.
2° Aspects techniques
- Donner la possibilité de procéder à un export sur une durée donnée avec une périodicité:
* Exemple: lancer le produit tournant sur 1 heure avec un délai de refresh de 30s pour obtenir un tableur CSV lisible et convertible en graphe excel
ENGLISH
1° Ergonomy
- Rebase the "more" button on each line. It's hard to figure out what the big button is used for.
- Allow resizing the outfits of the tables
- On the graph
* Add a grid to indicate what it is for
* Colorate the lines is a great idea... colorate with the same colors the lines of the grids to understand the graphics
* Add the possibility to activate/deactivate each graphic
* Add the sort on the grids. It can be useful when you sort the networks by strength for example
2° Techcs aspects
- Add a feature for exporting the stats, with parameters like
* "record the networks for 1 hour, this each 30s"
* Make this record on csv format.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Kyle_Katarn » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:21 pm

- More button : Improved in 0.9.3 (now "more details")
- Scope is messy and often incorrect in 0.9.2. Now working as per design in 0.9.3. Next step is :
---> To be able to read more easily
---> To be able to check / select which network to display
---> to explicitly associate a network to a color (currently, you have to guess....)
---> to be able to change color for a given network + remember with dot11expert is restarted
- Column sorting already in my to do list
- recording & export to csv added to the to do list ( http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs )

Big thank you !

Eldon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:46 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Eldon » Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:57 pm

The download link is invalid.
Under http://www.kcsoftwares.com/beta/ only sumo.exe is listed.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Kyle_Katarn » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:46 pm

Eldon wrote:The download link is invalid.
Under http://www.kcsoftwares.com/beta/ only sumo.exe is listed.
fixed !

Eldon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:46 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Eldon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 12:48 am

Here are a few issues:

1. The program opens slightly off-screen on my 1366 x 768 monitor.

2. Moving or maximizing does not keep. When the program is again opened, it is in the default position and in a window.

3. The graph has no values.

4. One of my available networks shows twice.
Attachments
dot11.jpg
dot11.jpg (108.82 KiB) Viewed 3936 times

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Kyle_Katarn » Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:01 pm

Point 2,3,4 are already on my todo list. Will be implemented soon.
for #1, i'll try to propose something.

Eldon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:46 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Eldon » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:28 am

I think points 1 & 2 are related. Some programs I have used show the same behaviour - they always open in a window and in a default position.
I have been using the portable version of the program. Now I have tried the installer and the same issues are present. I'll continue to test both versions.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Kyle_Katarn » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:32 pm

Eldon wrote:I think points 1 & 2 are related. Some programs I have used show the same behaviour - they always open in a window and in a default position.
I have been using the portable version of the program. Now I have tried the installer and the same issues are present. I'll continue to test both versions.
OK, i'll try to post a new beta adressing these issues asap.

Eldon
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:46 pm

Re: dot11Expert BETA TEST

Post by Eldon » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:06 pm

Kyle_Katarn wrote: OK, i'll try to post a new beta adressing these issues asap.
Thanks Kyle.

Locked